2023 DIA Gala


Calendar Icon

Saturday, Nov 11, 2023
6 p.m.

Add to Calendar

Individual ticket prices $5,000; $2,500; $750


In the Museum

5200 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48202
United States

Three long rows of tables sit in Rivera Court, lined with candles and place settings for one of the DIA's yearly Galas.

Nearly 500 distinguished patrons, sponsors, collectors, and local and international artists gathered at the DIA on November 11, 2023, to celebrate 50 years of the Detroit Film Theatre (DFT) and honor retiring Board Chairman Gene Gargaro and his wife Mary Anne at the DIA’s Annual Gala.

The DFT has presented visionary cinema for a half-century at the DIA, remaining committed to one of the world’s great art forms, ensuring that future generations can discover new films and restored masterworks.

Co-Chairs Yvonne Fisher, Carolynn and Aaron Frankel, Nicole George and Chris Thomas, and Tatiana Grant-Saunders and Tony Saunders transformed the museum’s Josephine F. and Walter B. Ford II Great Hall and Rivera Court to be reminiscent of old Hollywood glamour, reflecting Art-Deco décor and style. The memorable evening concluded with guests dancing into the night at an after-party featuring DJ Jared Sykes and the Gnote7 Band.

The enormous generosity displayed by our sponsors (see list below) played a pivotal role in advancing our mission to provide a venue for each visitor to find personal meaning in art. Funds raised through the event support critical museum operations and honor Mary Anne and Eugene Gargaro, Jr.’s legacy of leadership at the DIA upon Gene’s retirement as Board Chair after 20 years.

Click here to view event photos, by Olga Gamburg




  • Yvonne Fisher
  • Carolynn and Aaron Frankel
  • Nicole George and Chris Thomas
  • Tatiana Grant-Saunders and Tony Saunders


  • Adele Acheson
  • Bridget and John Apap
  • Michelle Bassett
  • Tina Bassett
  • Sheri and Jonathan Boos
  • Lisa Bouchard
  • Lindsay Brock
  • Denise Brooks-Williams
  • Lindsey and Thomas Buhl
  • Jane Burton
  • Leland Calloway
  • Andrew Camden
  • Jenny and Bill Chope
  • Leigh and Lane Coleman
  • Shery Cotton
  • Mary Kay and Keith E. Crain
  • Joanne Danto and Arnold Weingarden
  • Maureen T. D’Avanzo
  • Alexandra Decker
  • Dr. Shauna Ryder Diggs
  • Frances and Kenneth Eisenberg
  • Nicole Eisenberg
  • Colleen and Blake Ellis
  • Jennifer and David Fischer
  • Barbara and Alfred J. Fisher III
  • Brooke and Al Fisher
  • Elise Fisher
  • Lauren G. Fisher
  • Elyse and David Foltyn
  • Cynthia and Edsel Ford
  • Sarah and Calvin Ford
  • Linda Forte
  • Judy Frankel
  • Eliza Getz
  • Christine Giampetroni
  • Diana Golden
  • Jennifer and Chris Granger
  • Jill Heyllar
  • Renee Janovsky
  • Story S. John
  • Danialle Karmanos
  • Robin Kole-James
  • Bonnie Larson
  • Arlene and John Lewis
  • Annie Margulis
  • Joy Orley Nachman
  • Jennifer and Joe Parke
  • Lisa Pernick
  • Vivian Rogers Pickard
  • Katie Prior
  • Fair Radom
  • Anita Rajpal
  • Kim Reuss
  • Constance and Martin Ross
  • Chris and Walter Schwartz
  • Nettie Seabrooks
  • Sandra Seligman
  • Julie Sosa
  • Linda Theodore
  • Lorna Thomas, M.D.
  • Joanne Ulnick
  • Rhonda D. Welburn
  • Janis and Bill Wetsman
  • Trudi Wineman
  • Carol Ziecik

In Honor of Mary Anne and Eugene A. Gargaro, Jr.


  • Jennifer Adderley


  • Mr. Martin P. Krall, Jr. and Mr. and Mrs. Martin A. Krall


  • Anonymous
  • Aaron and Carolynn Frankel Family
  • Judy Frankel
  • Nicole and Matt Lester
  • Richard and Jane Manoogian Foundation
  • Molly and Mark Valade
  • Young Family Foundation



  • Lynn and Paul Alandt Foundation
  • Rich Baird
  • Alex Erdeljan and Susan Kaplan
  • Jim and Patty George
  • Jennifer and Dan Gilbert
  • Amy and Mark Haimann
  • Adam and Krystle Hollier
  • Huntington T. Block Insurance Agency
  • Sam Hussein
  • Paul Kado
  • Masterpiece International, Ltd.
  • Monticello Associates
  • Oswald Companies
  • Our Next Energy (ONE)
  • Joe and Jennifer Parke
  • Alice R. Pfahlert
  • Anthony and Kristy Schena
  • Wolverine Packing Co.
  • Burton A. Zipser and Sandra D. Zipser Foundation

Sponsors as of November 8, 2023

The DIA welcomes your gifts from Donor Advised Funds (DAFs). To help ensure that your gift aligns with IRS tax requirements, no event benefits will be provided in connection with donations made through DAFs; event payments should be made by any other non-DAF vehicles.